Living Our Lives in Our Own Terms

Steps to stop discrimination

In take it as it is, thinking aloud!, tips, Uncategorized on August 2, 2010 at 2:30 am
An attempt at a discrimination graphic.

Image via Wikipedia

Steps to stop discrimination http://ow.ly/2jrA7

Notes on the link above:

I wrote the article originally for Helium.com, where I also have numerous stock content of articles covering many topics. My tips have been gathered from my readings as well as from actual experiences I’ve gathered through the years (being in mid-40s as of this writing).  Usually, Helium.com would have other writers writing into titles (although this does not necessary happen all the time as I have many articles where I’m the only who have written to these titles) but in this case, mine is the only one so far. It would have been wonderful to read well-thought out inputs as well from other writers.

Discrimination is a constant reality here in NYC especially because I’m a foreigner here, even if there are so many of us foreigners here.  Most times, I’ll notice if someone’s discriminating against me – I’ve have learned not to take things personally as most people are just misinformed. And also, I have my own set of notions as well, which continue to evolve. I see discrimination happening with people I see on the road and those I personally deal with. One very basic type of discrimination I encounter most often refers to ‘race’, i.e., skin color or simply different looks. I’ve seen it recently from a friend who had to relate to someone we’ve just met that ‘he is the second black person‘ that he’s befriended. It’s nothing significant really, if you look closely to it – my friend certainly didn’t mean any harm. But I sensed right away the ‘discrimination.’ Why even point out the fact, when it should not matter at all in the first place; we all want friends (good ones, that is!) without thinking much about their skin color.

And I see ‘discrimination’ even among my good friends in my prayer meeting; they still can’t connect that persons can be gay and be good Catholics at the same. They’re even against gay marriages, just like some misinformed people. And nowadays, we see how older people are discriminated from getting job offers because of their age ; employers are more prone to give job offers to the young ones, the inexperienced and those whom they can pay really low wages.

Most times, I’ll feel really amused when I sense I’m being discriminated. It actually feels like your life is happening on a big screen just like in the movies. It’s not always dramatic but most times it’s subtle. I’ve learned to assert myself in so many creative ways. My response is always  situational, which is the same strategy I’d learned from having finished MBA school. And also, I think age plays a strong role in tempering down my reaction whenever I sense I’m being discriminated. I tell myself ‘get even but don’t get mad.’  In any case, give me feedback if you think my tips have been helpful to you – I’ll certainly go out of my way to reply. And a lot of good thinking and action still have to be done for the cause of discrimination – this is especially important for people who have children whom they love and would love to grow in a community that works against all forms of discrimination.

Leave a comment